Starting the foundation chain

For a while now I’ve been contemplating the idea of starting a blog to post and share all my various crochet and crafting creations as well as having something new to connect me with the crafting world. I have for a couple of years been one half of The Reviewinators – something I will continue – but the format wasn’t what I needed to post about all things woolly, sticky and tasty!

Last April, I taught myself how to crochet. For years I’d on and off wondered how on earth my aunt and my mum made their giant granny square blankets (and by giant I mean probably big enough to cover Belgium). Over Easter, my aunt showed me how to do a treble crochet (UK term) on her blanket and, after a few stumbled attempts once I got hold of my own hook and wool I made my first granny square blanket:

The first thing I ever crocheted, later gifted to a family member who was expecting a little boy

The first thing I ever crocheted, later gifted to a family member who was expecting a little boy

From these humble beginnings I have made many things big and small:

African flower fingerless glove Christmas Stocking

One of the projects I’m proudest of is the blanket I made for my Dad’s girlfriend. She was diagnosed with breast cancer back in August 2014 and, remembering the words of my sadly deceased friend who died from a brain tumour, I decided to crochet her a huge blanket to keep her warm during chemotherapy. Although it took until mid-January to finish, it looked fab and ended up much bigger than I’d originally intended:

Katie's blanket 1 Katie's Blanket 2

 

I also have my mood blanket as an ongoing project. Back in May 2014 I started Caseloading, the final section of my midwifery training. I wanted a way to document this and my first year as a qualified midwife that wasn’t a diary or something else I would utterly fail at! The result was my mood blanket: a blanket comprising of a granny square a week, each day a colour that represents my mood. Here it is twenty-five weeks in:

Mood blanket 5x5

With a list of about five current projects, I plan to post quite a few projects over the near future and hopefully also some non-crochet related posts too!

Leave a Reply

