How to Make Polymer Hook Handles

As the amount of crochet I’m doing increases, the more I find my basic aluminium hooks uncomfortable. After long periods they rub on my hands and make my wrists and fingers ache. I have purchased a couple of hooks from Koru Tumi and love them. I then thought, why not try to make my own hook handles? And so I did!

image

My first attempts

To make your own hook handles you will need:
   – an aluminium crochet hook
   – polymer clay that sets when baked (I bought some cheap clay off of eBay to experiment with but you can get different brands from most art and craft shops)

image

Pick your colours. I like to make marble effect handles but you can make solid colours too or stripes if you want. I’ll be focusing on marble effect in this tutorial.

Once you’ve picked your colours you’ll need to soften then clay in your hands. When it is soft, roll each colour into sausages of equal length. Then place the sausages together and twist so they look like a flump:

image

image

image

Then roll your flump out into another sausage, fold in half and twist again:

image

image

image

Keep repeating until you have an effect you’re happy with but be careful not to over do it or you’ll end up with a horrible mess.

When you’re happy, roll your clay into a sausage of the desired length, for me just long enough to cover the indent on my hook:

image

Then, carefully, start inserting the non-hook end of your hook into the clay. You will need to twist it a little and be careful not to let the hook poke out through the clay:

image

image

Once the hook is in, roll the handle to smooth. If you want to add details like an indent or hook size, you can do it now. I also taper off the end nearest the hook:

image

Then, place your hook on a tray lined with greaseproof or baking paper and place in the oven at 135 degrees Celsius for 15-20mins, the thicker the hook, the longer it will need:

image

Once your hook is baked, take it out and leave to cool.

And there you have it, one polymer handled crochet hook!

image

2 thoughts on “How to Make Polymer Hook Handles

Leave a Reply

