Candle Gift Pouch

A month or so ago, I became unwell at work and was taken to A&E. A couple of my friendly colleagues came with me and made sure I was okay and managed to get my partner to me as well. The next day, feeling slightly less like I’d been run over, I decided to make something to say thank you.

I absolutely love candles, especially flowery-smelling ones, and had a few in the house in little holders. To make them prettier I designed a little pouch to put them and present them. My friends loved them and, after some further testing, I’m happy to bring you my little pouch pattern!

This pattern was made to hold a small candle in a little holder but could be used as a pouch for sweets or other small items. The limit is your imagination… and the size of the pouch!

image

Pattern

DK yarn

3mm hook

Ribbon or cord

US terms

This pattern is worked in a continuous spiral, use a stitch marker to mark the beginning of each round

Stitches needed: Sc, sc inc, sc dec, hdc, dc, ch, ss

Feel free to sell items made from this pattern but please give me credit for the pattern!

Rnd 1: 6sc into magic ring (6 stitches)

Rnd 2: Inc in every stitch around (12)

Rnd 3: *sc, inc* around (18)

Rnd 4: *2sc, inc* around (24)

Rnd 5: *3sc, inc* around (30)

Rnd 6: *4sc, inc* around (36)

Rnd 7: Sc in back loops only of each stitch around (36)

Rnd 8: *10sc, dec* three times (33)

Rnd 9: *9sc, dec* three times (30)

Rnds 10 & 11: Hdc in each stitch around (30)

Rnd 12: Skip 1 stitch, 3dc in next stitch then *skip 2 stitches, 3dc into next stitch* around (30)

Rnd 13 & 14: 3dc into the second dc of each 3dc-cluster from the previous round (30)

Rnd 15 & 16: Hdc in each stitch around (30)

Rnd 17: *Dc, ch1 and skip 1 stitch, dc* around (30)

Rnd 18: Hdc in each stitch around (30)

Rnd 19: Sc in each stitch around (30)

Ss into next 3 stitches, cast off. Weave a ribbon or cord through the gaps in Rnd 17 and tie in a bow to close the gift holder.

Leave a Reply

